9/11 American Flag Yarn Bomb

Hello strangers! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Well, the day after International Yarn Bombing Day I had the worst case of stomach flu/food poisoning that I’ve ever had and even had a little trip to the ER, so I never really posted about it. Then I spent the next month or more getting ready for my wedding. And then I relaxed for a while.

But I’m back! Thought I’d knit something nice in remembrance of 9/11 to add to the Alki Statue of Liberty in West Seattle (my main ‘hood). I don’t want to say a lot about the 10 year anniversary of 9/11, but it was a very memorable time in my life for many reasons, and not only was it a catastrophic event that affected just about everyone in some way even if small, it just seems to be a benchmark in my life.

One of my best friends wrote on facebook of humbleness and pride today, and I think she sums up a lot of the feelings I have had over the last 10 years about the event:

“As pride often does, we looked outside of ourselves to find the enemy, the one to blame, so that we wouldn’t have to look inside at what we may have done to contribute. We had an opportunity to question our relentless consumption, our foreign policy, our financial health, our priorities, and our faith.  Instead, we forged ahead into expensive, deadly wars.”

So well put.

I’m not a super patriotic person, but I do think there are a lot of really great things about living in this country that we take for granted. So today, I’ll be proud to be an American, even if that is a hokey notion.



Leave a comment